2016 Growth Awards nominees announced

2016 Growth Awards nominees announced

From Carnarvon in Western Australia to Griffith in New South Wales and across the Tasman to Katikati in New Zealand, 57 leading agribusiness professionals have been named nominees for the 2016 Syngenta Growth Awards.

The Growth Awards aim to recognise leading agriculture professionals, highlighting their outstanding contributions to the industry across three award categories: Productivity; Sustainability; and Community and People.

Territory Head – Australasia for Syngenta, Paul Luxton, says he is inspired by this year’s nominees.

“We see outstanding nominees each year, and this year is no exception. We’ve received an extremely high calibre of nominations from agriculture professionals who are all working to improve not only their own businesses, but the industry as a whole,” he says.

“There’s a strong theme of giving back throughout the nominee list this year, with some dedicating their own personal time to mentor the next generation. It’s uplifting knowing that so many agriculture professionals are working with graduates to secure the future of our industry.”

“We have also seen a number of entrants who are doing great work in researching, developing and implementing new productivity measures – both on farm and in business operations, as well as agronomists who go above and beyond to ensure the wellbeing of their clients.”

From the pool of 57 nominations, the first round of judging in August will produce the regional finalists. Following this, regional winners will be chosen based on a rigorous selection criteria for each category, and announced in late October. Australasian winners will then be selected by an independent judging panel.

The winners will be announced at the Growth Awards dinner in Sydney on 1 December 2016. The winners will then have the opportunity to participate in a study tour to the UK and Europe in 2017.

“The purpose of these awards is to recognise those professionals who are making a great contribution to our industry through leadership, best practice and innovation, and the nominees are certainly doing this.”